A Look Into The Laver Cup

The Laver Cup will be an international indoor hard court men’s tennis tournament between teams from Europe and the rest of the world.

The competition will be held annually except for Olympic years, the tournament will occur two weeks after the US Open, with the location rotating annually.

The competition will pit six top European players against six of their counterparts from the rest of the world.

There will be 12 matches played over three days, nine singles and three doubles, with the number of points awarded for victories increasing each day.

Each player will take the court once or twice for singles, with at least four of the six taking part in doubles.

All matches will be played as best-of-three, with a 10-point tiebreaker if play goes to a third set.

The tournament is named after Australian tennis legend Rod Laver, a tennis player widely regarded as one of the greatest in the history of the sport.

Participating Players For 2017 (The Inaugural edition)
Team Europe comprises of Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Alexander Zverev, Marin Čilić, Dominic Thiem and Tomáš Berdych.

While Team World has Sam Querrey, John Isner, Nick Kyrgios, Jack Sock, Juan Martín del Potro, Denis Shapovalov and Thanasi Kokkinakis as an alternate player option.

Roger Federer’s management company, TEAM8, Brazilian businessman and former Davis Cup player Jorge Paulo Lemann, and Tennis Australia partnered to create the Laver Cup.

Former rivals Björn Borg of Sweden (Europe) and John McEnroe of the United States (World team) will serve as captains for the first three editions.

The first edition will be held in Prague from 22–24 September 2017, at the O2 Arena.

Show More

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker