Lopez-Perez Wins Governor’s Cup

Spaniard, Enrique Lopez-Perez claimed the first leg of the 2016 Governor’s Cup after a 6-2 6-7 6-1 victory over Frenchman, Gianni Mina in Saturday’s final.


Lopez-Perez is competing at the tournament for the first time since winning both legs in 2012, and the top seed continued his love affair with the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club in a high-quality final.

The 25-year-old threatened to run away with the contest when he led by a set and a break, but Mina refused to go away, twice recovering from a break to force a decider.

The Frenchman appeared to be stirring down the barrel of defeat when he dropped his serve to go down 2-3 in the second set, but he responded brilliantly, winning the next three games to open up a 5-3 lead in a topsy-turvy set.

Mina was particularly strong on the backhand side, often leaving his opponent motionless with some stunning shots down the line.

He faltered while serving for the second set, but held his nerve to edge a brilliant tie break.

Mina saved a match point with the luckiest of net cords, and he made the most of his chance, taking the set when Lopez-Perez dumped a return into the net.

The Frenchman appeared to have all the momentum going into the final set, and he made the first move, breaking the Lopez-Perez serve in the first game.

That however proved to be Mina’s final stand, as his Spanish foe seized control of the contest, reeling off six straight games to become Governor’s Cup champion after two hours and 16 minutes.

Lopez-Perez also got the better of Mina in the men’s doubles final later in the day, with the Spaniard teaming up with Dutchman, Boy Westerhof to beat the French pair of Mina and Calvin Hemery 6-2 6-3.

The women’s singles’ crown went to Slovenia’s Tadeja Majeric, who recovered from the loss of the first set to beat good friend and doubles’ partner, Conny Perrin 3-6 6-1 6-1.

Show More

Related Articles


  1. MARTIN SAMUEL AT WINDSOR PARK: On a scale of one to Thierry Henry it wasn’t the worst injustice we have ever seen in a World Cup qualifier. The best team won. Northern Ireland 0-1 Switzerland: Controversial penalty puts Michael O’Neill’s men on the back foot as Ricardo Rodriguez slots in spot-kick after Corry Evans is harshly punished for handball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker